Welcome to the Missaukee County Road Commission

Our goal is to maintain the county’s roads in a condition that is safe and convenient for travel. If you come across an unsafe condition such as a stop sign knocked down, a tree blown across a road, or other condition requiring immediate attention, report it to us at (231) 839-4361, or during non-business hours to the Missaukee County Sheriff’s Office at (231) 839-4338


**We are currently on our spring/summer schedule which is Monday through Thursday,

6 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  We are closed on Fridays.**



The level of Lake Missaukee was measured at 1238.9 on May 7 



PO Box A- 1199 N. Morey Road
Lake City Michigan, 49561

Phone: 231.839.4361
Fax:      231.839.5381

Report A Road Problem
Phone Number

2019 Meeting Schedule
Board of Missaukee County

Meetings will be held at 1:00 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month unless posted otherwise. 

Meetings will be held at the Road Commission

  1199 N. Morey Rd, Lake City, MI


Meeting dates are as follows:

January 9

February 13


April 10

 May 8

June 12

July 10

August 14

September 11

October 9

November 13

December 11

This notice is posted in compliance with Public Act 267 of 1976, as amended, the Open Meeting Act, MCL 41.k72A, and the American with Disabilities Act. 


Michigan has always been a prime destination for those who love to experience all four seasons, the Great Lakes, and other gorgeous scenery. Many home buyers like to invest in second homes at their vacation spots. However, if you are not from one of Michigan’s recreational areas, you may be unfamiliar with the concept of seasonal roads.  Seasonal roads are unpaved trails and back roads that provide access to summer homes on lakes, rivers, woods and recreational activities. They are not your typical roadbeds and are often narrow, swampy and hard to drive on with sharp turns. Seasonal roads are not designed to handle a lot of traffic, and require slow speeds when passing through. Michigan has a law that describes how seasonal roads are maintained by the local road commissions. Briefly, that statute states that a seasonal road will not be maintained from November through April. Furthermore, they will not be open to public traffic during this time. There are signs posted at seasonal roads informing the public of this. Sometimes the signs are lost to vandalism or other factors, which is why educating yourself on seasonal roads before making a cottage or land purchase is very important. If you are uncertain of the status of a particular road, contact the county road commission or consult your realtor.










About Us

The Missaukee County Road Commission was established in 1928. The Missaukee County Road Commission has a three-member Board of Road Commissioners who are elected by the voters. The Missaukee County Board of Commissioners decides whether road commissioners are appointed or elected. Road Commissioners serve six-year terms. The terms are staggered so that all Commissioners are not up for re-election at the same time.

The county road system consists of both primary and local roads. Primary roads are generally paved roads that function as either minor or major collectors. The local road system consists of all other roads that are under the jurisdiction of the Missaukee County Road Commission. Currently we have 222 miles of Primary Roads and 634 Miles of Local Roads (including seasonal roads). In addition, the Missaukee County Road Commission maintains 132 Lane miles of State Trunkline under contract with the Michigan Department of Transportation.